2022 IABF Guest of Honor Award

Mike Piazza & Team Italy

  • Baseball Hall of Famer
  • Manager of Team Italy
  • Piazza and Team Italy were recognized in advance of the 2023 World Baseball Classic
Mike Piazza

2022 IABF Achievement Award

Mike Pagliarulo

  • Pagiliarulo spent 11 years in the big leagues between the Yankees, Padres, Twins, Orioles, and Rangers and one season playing in Japan
  • Drafted by the Yankees in the sixth round out of the University of Miami
  • Won World Series with the Twins in 1991 as the team’s starting third baseman
  • Pags later worked as a hitting coach for the Miami Marlin
  • Currently serving as a special assistant to the GM of the Washington Nationals.
Mike Pagliarulo

2022 IABF Executive of the Year Award

Jim Small

  • Senior Vice President of International at Major League Baseball
  • Deep Italian roots whose family changed their last name from Piccolo at Ellis Island
  • Responsible for growing MLB’s brand and development globally, planning MLB’s international play schedule, and generating new opportunities to grow the sport’s popularity internationally
  • Oversees the World Baseball Classic
Jim Small

2022 IABF Media Award

Michael Kay

  • Kay is best known as the play-by-play broadcaster of the Yankees and host of CenterStage on the YES Network
  • Host of The Michael Kay Show on ESPN Radio.
  • New York native
  • Italian on his mother’s side
Michael Kay

2022 IABF Future Star Award

Vito Friscia

  • Member of Team Italy
  • Triple A prospect of Philadelphia Phillies
  • Product of Hofstra University
  • Played in 2021 European Championship where he hit three home runs in matches against Austria (grand slam), Croatia and Israel
Vito Friscia

2022 IABF Ambassador Award

Marco Landi

  • Head of communications and marketing at FIBS
  • Friend and key partner between FIBS and IABF
  • Inaugural recipient of this honor
Marco Landi

2021 Future Star Award

Anthony Volpe

  • Top prospect in the Yankees organization
  • 2019 New Jersey High School Player of the Year
  • 1st round pick in 2019 MLB Draft
Anthony V

2021 Guest of Honor Award

Trey Mancini

  • Baltimore Orioles First Baseman
  • 2021 American League Comeback Player of the Year
  • 2021 MLB Home Run Derby Participant
Trey M

2021 IABF Executive of the Year

Mike Rizzo

  • President and GM of the Washington Nationals
  • 2019 World Series Champion
  • Selected by Angels in 1982 MLB Draft
  • Scout for White Sox, Red Sox, Diamondbacks
  • Lead Scouting Director, Diamondbacks 2000-2006
Mike R

2021 IABF Achievement Award

Dom Scala

  • Career record of 432-331-5 at Adelphi
  • Won three conference titles and three coach of the year honors
  • Inductee of the New York State Baseball Hall of Fame
  • Sixth round draft pick by Oakland in 1976
  • New York Yankees Bullpen Catcher from 1978-1981
  • New York Yankees Bullpen Coach 1981-1986
  • Won World Series with Yankees in 1978
  • Advanced Scout with Pittsburgh Pirates from 1987-1990
Dom S

2021 IABF Media Award

Tom Verducci

  • Write Sports Illustrated; broadcaster Fox Sports
  • 3X National Sportswriter of the Year
  • Emmy Awards in 2012, 2013, 2018
  • Best selling author of “The Yankee Years,” “The Cubs Way,” “Chasing the Dream”
  • Inductee of National Sports Media Association Hall of Fame
Tom V

2020 Italian American Baseball Foundation - Baseball Executive of the Year

JP Ricciardi

  • MLB Executive – Special Advisor to President of Baseball Operations with SF Giants
  • Previously served as Special Assistant to NY Mets General Manager Sandy Alderson
JP Ricciardi

2020 Italian American Baseball Foundation - Achievement Award

Anthony Iapoce

  • Hitting coach for Chicago Cubs
  • Played for Milwaukee Brewers
  • Played college baseball at Lamar University
Anthony Iapoce

2020 Italian American Baseball Foundation - Guest of Honor

Lee Mazzilli

  • Professional baseball player, coach, and manager
  • 13 year baseball career
  • Played for NY Mets, Texas Rangers, NY Yankees, Pittsburgh Pirates, and Toronto Blue Jays
Lee Mazzilli

2019 Italian American Baseball Foundation - Guest of Honor

Joe Girardi

  • All-Star (2000)
  • 4× World Series champion (1996, 1998, 1999, 2009)
  • NL Manager of the Year (2006)
Joe Girardi NY Yankees

2019 Italian American Baseball Foundation - Achievement Award

Frank Catalanotto

  • 13 Year MLB Career
  • 2001 Placed 5th in MLB Batting With a .330 average
  • Named Head Baseball Coach in 2018 at New York Institute of Technology
frank catalanotto

2019 Italian American Baseball Foundation - Baseball Executive of the Year

Natalie M. Spedaliere

  • Sr. Coordinator to the President of MLB Network / NHL Network
  • Director – IABF Executive Board
  • Fundraising Committee – IABF Foundation
IABF natalie_spedaliere

2018 Italian American Baseball Foundation - Guest of Honor

John Franco

424 Saves (5th in MLB)
4× All-Star (1986, 1987, 1989, 1990)
2× NL Rolaids Relief Man Award (1988, 1990)
3× NL saves leader (1988, 1990, 1994)
2012 New York Mets Hall of Fame


2018 IABF - Baseball Executive of the Year

Jon Paul Morosi

  • In-game reporter for Fox Sports
  • Analyst for MLB Network’s WhipAround
  • MLB reporter for the World Baseball Classic
  • Covered 10 World Series
Jon Paul Morosi

2017 Italian American Baseball Foundation - Guest of Honor

Bobby Valentine

1970 MVP – Pacific Coast League – Spokane Indians
1986 UPI Manager of the Year – Texas Rangers.
2000 Manager NL Champion – New York Mets
2005 Manager of the Japan Series Champions – Chiba Lotte Marines of the Japanese Pacific League.
He is currently athletic director of Sacred Heart University in Connecticut


2017 IABF - Baseball Executive of the Year

Gary Perone

Brooklyn Cyclones assistant General Manager
Co-Founder  of the Borough Cup
Presidential Citation – Minor League Baseball (MILB)
2012 – 2016 Robert Julian Community and Baseball Service Award
Brooklyn Cyclones – 2017 Winner of the Larry McPhail award


2016 Italian American Baseball Foundation - Guest of Honor

Mike Piazza