Sep 2023

Terry Francona Named 2023 IABF Tommy Lasorda Award Honoree

World Series-winning manager Terry Francona is the 2023 Italian American Baseball Foundation Tommy Lasorda honoree.

He will be recognized at a ceremony in November. Tickets are officially on sale for the IABF gala, which will take place at Marina Del Ray in the Bronx. The Lasorda Award recognizes a player or coach’s dedication to the game, career success, and pride in their Italian heritage.

Francona, who led the Red Sox to two World Series titles, including the one that snapped a historic 86-year winless streak in 2004, has managed since 1997 and played from 1981 to 1990. His 2017 Cleveland team set an American League record with 22 consecutive wins. He was recognized for his efforts as American League Manager of the Year in 2013, 2016, and 2022. Francona has nearly 2,000 wins as a major league manager.

Past recipients of the Lasorda Award include Trey Mancini (2021) and Mike Piazza and Team Italy (2022). The award was formally referred to as IABF’s Guest of Honor and was awarded to Mike Piazza (2016), Bobby Valentine (2017), John Franco (2018), Joe Girardi (2019), and Lee Mazzilli (2020) in its original form.

Tickets, tables, and sponsorships are officially available now! More IABF honorees will be announced in the coming weeks.

< Previous PostNext Post >